West Ealing Abundance

The Abundance Wing of WEN. For further information click on About Abundance

Out foraging for Blackberries August 6, 2010

Filed under: Abundance — WEN @ 7:40 pm
Tags: , ,

I will be out to a couple of locations this weekend to hopefully pick a lot of blackberries to make jam – has anyone picked any yet locally by the way?

 

3 Responses to “Out foraging for Blackberries”

  1. Gill Adams Says:

    I am in Hampshire at the moment and the blackberries are beginning to ripen and sweeten. I’m remembering from last year that we need a mixture of just-ripe and slightly under-ripe fruit for a good set. Also, mustn’t use over-ripe fruit or the jam will have poor keeping qualities. There are a load of nice apples becoming ripe (I’m in a lovely woodland setting in the south downs) so hopefully i’ll make some blackberry and apple jam. Have also got a grapevine in full flow- never seen so many grapes in one place. Will have to experiment with grape jam. I’m looking after a polytunnel and running a ‘save the coriander’ campaign – i’ve got a pesto recipe that involves walnuts. I’m hoping I can find a food processor as I’m a bit too lazy to pound it all up.

    Like

  2. Tom Bonasera Says:

    We have picked two batches from a completely neglected bush in an overgrown front garden “jungle” down the road from our home in W5. Might pick a third batch today.

    Like

    • WEN Says:

      Good stuff I went to Bitterns Field today at Brent River Park and found loads of blackberries. Plus I walked further round to the small bridge near the gold course and there is a damson tree in full fruit. I will be sending a note out to volunteers to come along and help pick more for Abundance.

      Like


Leave a Reply

